Skip to main content

Celebrating the Achievements of our Workforce at the Staff Recognition Awards

Tuesday 29th March 2022

Yesterday, Monday 28th March 2022, the Health Board held the first Staff Recognition Awards since before the Covid-19 Pandemic began.

Postponed from December 2021, the event- which usually sees colleagues from across the Health Board gathering to celebrate each other’s achievements at the Christchurch Centre in Newport- was held virtually for the very first time.

Despite the alternative setting, the purpose and ethos of the event remained the same- celebrating the hard work, dedication and outstanding care given by teams across Aneurin Bevan University Health Board.

The event was hosted by Interim Chief Executive, Glyn Jones, with former Chief Executive of Aneurin Bevan University Health Board, Judith Paget CBE, also joining the event to present the Chief Executive’s Award.

Glyn, Interim Chief Executive, said:

“There is no doubt that the last 2 years in particular have presented unprecedented challenges, and it would be remiss of me to let our 2021 Recognition event pass without thanking everyone for the heroic efforts that have been made and continue to be made throughout this Pandemic. Your efforts are testament to the expertise, the dedication, and the compassion of our NHS staff. Despite everything we face, we continue to step up and keep our focus where it should be- on the patients and the communities that we serve.

“We recognise that this is just a snapshot of all the excellent work undertaken by our staff every day and I want to acknowledge all our staff for everything that you do to provide and enable excellent and compassionate care.”


You can watch the online ceremony in the video below:

The winners were as follows:


Employee Health & Wellbeing at Work 

Winner – Dr Josie Cheetham
Runners up – Sarah Flowers and the Clinical Psychology Speciality; Robert Callen Davies

Improving Patient Experience

Winner – Sarah Power, Neonatal Sister at The Grange University Hospital

Runners up – Emma Davies (Project Lead) and The Cardiac Rehabilitation Team; Shannon Greenway, Occupational Therapy Support Worker


Winner - Mezz Bowley, Deputy Director of Public Health and Senior Responsible Officer for the Covid 19 Mass Vaccination programme, and Dr Liam Taylor, Deputy Medical Director & Interim Divisional Director, Primary Care Community Services Division 

Runners up- Joanne Hook, Senior Nurse, County Hospital; Dr Adrian Neale, Head of Employee Wellbeing

Partnership Working

Winner – ICU, Anaesthetics and Theatres
Runners up – The Welsh Ambulance Services NHS Trust in collaboration with Aneurin Bevan University Health Board Primary and Secondary Care, Respiratory, GP, CRT, Frailty and District NursesThe Covid Follow up and Rehabilitation Clinics, represented by Dr Sara Fairburn and Dr Rachel Rouse

Quality, Sustainability and Efficiency

WinnerThe Robotic Process Automation Team
Runners up Bladder and Bowel Nursing Service and the South West District Nursing Team; The Heart Failure Nurse Led Service – represented by Linda Edmunds and Karen Hazel

Team of the Year

WinnerThe Respiratory Team from across the Health Board

Runners up- Switchboard Services; The Mortuary and Care after Death Hub Team

Education, Research and Innovation 

WinnerSt David’s Clinic – Dr Peter Speirs, Team Lead
Runners up - The representatives of the Practice Educator Nominees- Audra Davies and Lis Welton, The Pre-Registration Nurse Education Practice Facilitator Team, Annie Ming and Ali Kirton; The Aneurin Bevan Primary Care Academy, represented by Specialist Nurse Dawn Parry

Patient's Choice Award

Winner- Healthcare DepartmentHer Majesty’s Prison, Usk

Population Health and Well-being Award

Winner - Star Moyo, Senior Nurse, and the Asylum Seekers and Vulnerable Groups Team

Runners upThe Mass Vaccination Centre Booking Team; Carole Williams, Advanced Nurse Practitioner, Talygarn Community Mental Health Team

The Chair’s Award 

The Gwent Test, Trace, Protect Service, represented by Eryl Powell, Consultant in Public Health

The Chief Executive’s Award

The Pharmacy Service

The Aneurin Bevan Community Health Council Award

The Person-Centred Care Team

Special Recognition

Christine Culleton, Staff Nurse, Brynhyfryd Clinic

Living Our Values

Richard Lane- “The Singing Security Guard" at The Grange University Hospital

YYFM Radio – Steven Davies & Team at Ysbyty Ystrad Fawr

Professor Charlotte LawthomConsultant Neurologist

Jane Turner Colorectal Specialist Nurse

Rebecca PearceSenior Programme Manager

Dan Davies Chief of Staff

James HodgsonHead of Communications

Ed Valentine Consultant in Emergency Medicine

Congratulations to all of our winners and nominees- we are so proud of you all!